Freedom for Belarus

The Coalition calls for free elections in Belarus

July 22, 2020

Before the upcoming presidential elections planned for August 9, 2020, the regime in Belarus started its crackdown on the society and political opposition. The International Coalition for Democratic Renewal initiated a statement that brings attention to the escalating violence in Belarus, expressed solidarity with brave people who are being arrested and demand their immediate release. According to Andrei Sannikov, political and social activist, the international solidarity is absolutely crucial in the future political development in Belarus. Among the statement's supporters are Timothy Snyder, Agnieszka Holland, Francis Fukuyama, Philip Zimbardo and many others.

International Coalition for Democratic Renewal (ICDR) a Forum 2000 Foundation project, which is a global initiative of a group of intellectuals, activists and politicians concerned with the expansion of power and Influence of authoritarian regimes and the simultaneous weakening of democratic systems from within. The ICDR aims to reaffirm the fundamental principles of democracy, to take the offensive against the authoritarian opponents of democracy, and to demonstrate solidarity with the brave people who are fighting for freedom in undemocratic systems around the world. 

Freedom for Belarus

In Belarus the regime yet again started its crackdown on the society. It is attacking the presidential candidates and their teams, opposition figures, civil society, media and innocent civilians in the run-up of the presidential elections announced by the authorities and scheduled for 9th of August.

The two leading contenders that challenged the incumbent, Siarhei Tsihanousky and Viktar Babaryka are thrown in jail, as well as several members of their teams. The pressure on their supporters continues.

Dozens of activists were jailed for participation in legal peaceful rallies, including prominent opposition leaders Mikola Statkevich and Paval Seviarynets.

There is information that all those detained and arrested are kept in unbearable conditions, in cold cells, deprived even of hygienic items for basic needs, that they are subjected to tortures.

The unlawful and unwarranted detentions of innocent citizens continue on a daily basis, excessive police force is being used.
The behavior of the regime in Belarus runs counter to all international obligations of the country on democracy and election standards.
Human rights and basic freedoms of the Belarusians are grossly violated and it cannot be ignored and tolerated by international community.

  • We support the people of Belarus that demand respect for their rights and freedoms and stand for free and fair election.
  • We demand immediate and unconditional release of all those who were subjected to politically motivated detentions and arrests.
  • We urge the authorities of Belarus to give people back free and fair elections according to international standards that they have been deprived of for a long time.
  • We also urge the authorities to comply with their international obligations to ensure freedom of assembly, freedom of expression, and freedom of speech, unblock independent media, and stop harassment of journalists and politically motivated persecutions.
  • We denounce the escalation of police brutality against peaceful gatherings, journalists, and ordinary citizens, and warn the authorities of Belarus against any use of violence and force during the ongoing political campaign.
  • We urge international human rights organizations, European Union, democratic countries to react resolutely and take strong measures to prevent the dangerous practices of the authorities in Belarus.
  • We appeal to the international community to support the people of Belarus in their fight for freedom.





List of Signatories

Add your signature here.
List of Signatories as of July 22, 2020:

Agnieszka Holland
Alex Zmushka
Alex Zmushka
Alexandr Vondra
Aliaksandr Varoshka
Aliaksandr Yurchyk
Alina Aflecailor
Alina Mungiu-Pippidi
Anar Mammadli
Andrea Pető
Andreas Bummel
Andrei Piontkovsky
Andrei Sannikov
Andrzej Halicki
Anne Kling
Anne Marit Austbo
Antonio Monja
Artem Zaidman
Ayo Obe
Bálint Magyar
Barbara von Ow-Freytag
Bassma Kodmani
Bolívar Lamounier
Borys Gudziak
Brigitte Dufour
Bryliova Natalia
Carlos Fara
Claudio Lodici
Dan Meridor
Dato Sikharulidze
David Kramer
Davood Moradian
Dino Mess
Edipcia Dubón
Eka Gigauri
Enrique Sáenz
Farahnaz Ispahani
Feest Johannes
Francis Fukuyama
Francišak Viačorka
Gabriel Salvia
Gerardo Bongiovanni
Gerd Winter
Ghia Nodia
Giorgi Muchaidze
Glanis Changachirere
Gulnara Shahinian
Halicki Andrzej
Husain Haqqani
Idayat Hassan

Igor Munteanu
Inga Purina
Irwin Cotler
Ivan Krastev
Iveta Radičová
Jacque Rupnik
James Smart
Jean-Claude Casanova
Jeta Xharra
Jianli Yang
Jiří Havelka
João Carlos Espada
Joel Brito
Johannes Feest
John Shattuck
Joshua Muravchik
Juliane Filser
Karl F. Schuman
Katerina Venglinskaya
Katrin Loebel
Kenneth Wollack
Konstantin Kozakevich
Ladan Boroumand
Larry Diamond
Lee Feinstein
Leila Alieva
Leonid Gozman
Leszek Balcerowicz
Leszek Jazdzewski
Leyla Yunus
Lilia Shevtsova
Lyubomyr Tarnovskyy
Maina Kiai
Mall Hellam
Manon Gallet
Marc F. Plattner
Marcus Kolga
Maria Jönsson
Maria Wojtyszko
Marina Jaseneckaja
Mario Vargas Llosa
Mark Matus
Markus Meckel
Martin Bútora
Martin Palouš
Martin Uggla
Michael Abramowitz
Michael Žantovský
Mikhail Kasyanov
Miklos Haraszti

Mykola Riabchuk
Myroslav Marynovych
Natalia Klymovska
Natalia Skripka
Neelam Deo
Ngombet Andrea
Nino Evgenidze
Nino Zambakhidze
Norman Eisen
Omar Lopez
Paul Cliteur
Paul Graham
Paul Piercy
Penda Mbow
Peter Balazs
Philip Zimbardo
Rachel Azaria
Radosław Sikorski MEP
Rafael Rincón
Rafał Dutkiewicz
Ralf Fuecks
Reinhard Bütikofer
Robert Biedroń
Rostislav Valvoda
Sascha Hannig
Serhii Plokhii
Šimon Pánek
Slawomir Sierakowski
Stefan Meister
Surendra Munshi
Susan Corke
Svitlana Zalishchuk
Tamara Queen
Tatsiana Kurachynskaya
Thomas O. Melia
Timothy Snyder
Tinatin Khidasheli
Tom Daly
Tom Stoppard
Vadim Railean
Vladimir Tismaneanu
William A. Galston
Wolfgang Eichwede
Yaroslav Hrytsak
Yevgeniy Zhovtis
Yevhen Hlivytsky
Zamira Sydykova
Zbigniew Gluza
Zoltan Kesz
Žygimantas Pavilionis