Šimon Peres

President, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate


(1923 - 2016)

Shimon Peres was an Israeli politician who served as the President of Israel from 2007 to 2014 and as the Prime Minister of Israel between 1984 - 1986 and 1995 - 1996. In 1994, he won the Nobel Peace Prize together with Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat for the Oslo Accords peace talks with the Palestinian leadership. In 1996, he founded the Peres Center for Peace, which aims to further Peres' vision of people in the Middle East working together to build peace through socio-economic cooperation and development.